14 Jan 2023   |    Views : 415     |    Other   |    All Cities

Awards such as the Paramvir Chakra, Ashok Chakra and Vir Chakra are presented to gallantry award winners.This parade is presided over by the President of India . One of the main functions of the Republic Day Parade is to pay tribute to the martyrs who have sacrificed their lives for the country and to confer bravery awards on military persons, citizenry and children for showing courage in the face of adversity

The parade begins with winners of gallantry awards saluting the President in open military jeeps, followed by the display of various tanks, missiles and other equipment added to the arsenal of the military. After this, is the march-past of different regiments of the armed forces, police, Home Guards and National Cadet Corps. The President of India, being the Commander-in-Chief of the Indian Armed Forces, takes the salute. This is followed by a vibrant parade comprising tableaux from different States and cultural dances by patriotic school children.

India became independent on August 15, 1947. However, by this time, India didn’t have any constitution of its own, rather the laws were majorly based upon the modified colonial Government of India Act 1935. Then, it was on August 29, 1947, a separate resolution was passed for appointing the drafting committee. This committee was responsible for the creation of a permanent constitution of our country. And Dr. B.R. Amedakar was chosen as the chairman under whose guidance India entered a new world of glory and success. So, while Independence day mainly celebrates India’s independence, Republic Day celebrates the implementation of India’s constitution. 

Republic Day Parade Ticket Sale Counters

You can witness the Republic Day celebrations live at Rajpath with a ticket. Tickets can be purchased from the following counters that have been placed at the below-mentioned places in Delhi.

North Block Round About
Sena Bhawan (Gate No. 2)
Pragati Maidan (Gate No. 1) 
Jantar Mantar (Main Gate) 
Shastri Bhawan (Near Gate No. 3) 
Jamnagar House (Opposite India Gate) 
Red Fort (inside August 15 Park and opposite Jain Temple) 
Parliament House (Reception office) - special counter for Hon'ble MPs   

In order to buy tickets for this grand event, you have to produce valid ID proof at the counter which includes Aadhar Card, Voter ID, or any government ID.

The ticket fare per person for a reserved seat is Rs.500 and Rs.100 and Rs.20 for unreserved seats. These counters will remain open from 10 am to 12:30 pm and from 2 pm to 4:30 pm. Besides these, there will be a special ticket counter at Sena Bhawan that will remain open till 7 pm from January 23 to January 25. 

3 Likes | Comment | Private Response | Share
27566 27568 0 All Cities

2 Votes